In the Kitchen: Glazed pecans for summer salad

A little sweet and crunchiness to mix into a summer salad.

Great with goat cheese crumbles and fresh blueberries, and chopped endive over a spring or herb mix salad. I chopped the pecans before sprinkling over my salad. Or leave them whole and risk eating them like candy- seriously, an entire cup of the things can go down in a blink. Also great to sprinkle over ice cream, mixed into brownies, etc.

Years ago I was served a salad like this in a restaurant and every summer I recreate it at home.

I have the makings for this in the fridge at all times, because in the summer lighter foods- fruit, veggies, vinaigrette dressings- make me feel energized, full, less like I’ve eaten a brick, and more able to ignore the heat.

Glazed pecans (adapted from Tablespoon)

1cup pecan halves

1T brown sugar

1T butter

1T maple syrup

Preheat oven to 350F. Top cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Mix butter, sugar, and syrup on pan over medium heat until bubbly.

Toss in pecan halves and stir until coated- about 3 minutes.

Pour pecan mixture onto cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes. Remove from oven and place on cooling rack. Cool completely.

There may be extra caramel- eat and enjoy. After fully cooled, chop the pecans coarsely and put into an airtight container for storage.

Tablespoon says they’ll last in there about 2 weeks- which is about how long they last in my house, because a good summer salad is a daily thing.

Another good summer salad: fresh strawberries and toasted walnuts with bleu cheese. Found some lime basil vinaigrette that’s good too.

2 responses to “In the Kitchen: Glazed pecans for summer salad

  1. This sounds so Good!! I like the comment…”makes you feel less like you’ve eaten a brick.” I Know that feeling!

    • It’s funny- a few years ago I went on a massive health kick and while I’m no longer working out daily (and these Route 11 sour cream and chive chips are definitely a ‘no-no’) I’m still very conscious of how eating certain things makes me feel. *Especially* this time of year.

      Thanks for commenting! And if you have suggestions for good hot weather dishes, I’m all ears. 🙂

Leave a Reply

