Dining Out: Tunnicliff’s Tavern, Eastern Market

Eastern Market: the rebuild went well, apparently!

I’m on a budget right now, so I’m not going to places I’ve already been, unless they are spectacular and have long glorious menus that I absolutely must continue exploring. But there are exceptions to the rule, right?

Say for example your friend’s wife finally finds a fantastic job and can move to the DMV to live with her hubs (bonus: the two of you can now get together on occasion to plot and plan ways to make your friend drink wine and like it among other dastardly pursuits). That’s worth revisiting a place you’ve already been to for brunch- especially when it’s in the heart of Eastern Market. That and the Market Lunch isn’t serving Blue Bucks on Sundays (which is crazy, I tell you!).

I was, of course, late. Fashionably so. Good thing Jerry and Michelle are good sports about that sort of thing. They waited for me before ordering.

Michelle and I had the Eggs Chesapeake, which is the Benedict with lump crab. Which is amazing.

The Eggs Chesapeake: a must-order in the DMV, even when you can't see the water the crab was caught in.

I absolutely love poached eggs. Some day I hope to cook one successfully (ooh, add that to the bucket list). This one was delicious. We hoovered them down.

After, we dug into a masterpiece of breakfast pastry: the PB & J pizza.

If these had been around on Saturday mornings when I was a kid, I'd be a tub.

Delicious peanut butter and strawberry jam on a crust that was similar to pretzel dough. The only misstep as far as I’m concerned was the random sprinkling of mozzarella (yes, I said ‘mozzarella’ and I dearly wish I was joking). It tasted weird- rubbery and unpleasant amidst what was otherwise a randomly brilliant dish. I’d always thought of Tunnicliff’s as a pub with the same old food- never figured the place for that kind of creativity. Thanks to Jerry for the recommend and to Michelle for graciously buying brekkie!
 
Quote of the morning (as Jerry is trying not to choke on the peanut buttery deliciousness): “This is how you make a dog talk.”
 
After, we strolled the market (open since 1873) and then when the fair skinned folks started to feel distinctly pink, we went into the North Hall. This is the portion of the market that was rebuilt in 2009 after being pretty much destroyed by a fire. It is now looking quite good.
 
I would have taken photos of everything, but two things really grabbed me, so I kept it light:
 
 

Someday I'd like to shop for butter here. For now, though, it's back to the grocery store for a pound of sticks at a time. *sigh*

And everyone needs room in their life for Great Tasting Bacon:

The rest of the bacon is just "good", I guess.

We also found some lovely jewelry and such, but since so many DIY folks are out there these days they get antsy about photos. Don’t blame them. The only photo I’m really upset about not getting is of a cigar box that had a leather handle and looked like Paris Hilton could carry it around Beverly Hills. It was $29- since I have no cigars, and no use for something that Ms. Hilton might carry, I didn’t buy it, but I was very tempted.
 
Tunnicliff’s Tavern: 222 7th St SE Washington, DC 20003 (202) 544-5680

Green or Yellow line: Eastern Market 

http://www.tunnicliffstaverndc.com/

 
Leave a Reply

