Happy New Year!

It’s January 2, 2011. It’s the ninth day of Christmas. Bring on the ladies dancing! No really, trot ’em out there, please. I’m turning 40 this year and I need some dancing ladies, or maybe a single dancing gentleman. Straight, no chaser.

Don’t get me wrong, turning 40 is not a bad thing in itself. The media says I should be saggy and miserable- well, I’m totally out of shape and, thanks to a freak fall while snowboarding last March, I have a plate in my wrist that tells the weather. And thanks to the piled high plate in my hand I’m back to a size 12 after being a 6/8 for a glorious year. As for miserable, maybe I should be, given the fact that I’m jobhunting in the worst economy in ages, single, renting (ah gawd). But really? Not so much. I’ve got a great family behind me and some good friends scattered about.
Ā 
And I’ve got some delicious stuff in my pantry: including a jar of chocolate sauce that could cause epic weeping, and a Cuisinart ICE-21RSLT (which I got with a Sur La Table giftcard from my 39th birthday- marvy).
Anyway, it appears that *cue grandiose music* I have shirked my responsibilities as a blogger WITH (four) FOLLOWERS, so this year, in commemoration of my no longer being eligible for a “30 Under 30” list (and soon, a “40 Under 40”), I’m going to make a conscious effort to discipline myself to post here regularly.
Ā 
Discipline. Yes. Because if I can win at NaNoWriMo with 50K+ words in less than the requisite 30 days, I can manage at least a post a week for the next 50-something. Oh yes.
Ā 
So here’s to 2011. May it be sweet, a bit savory, and overall a delicious year!
9 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. >not all followers show on your list šŸ™‚ I'm still reading too!

    • Just figured out I can respond right to you. *facepalm*
      And I will be updating soon. Just got a new roasting pan and I don’t know how to use it but that’s part of the fun, right?

  2. >I've moved blogs recently, because the new life plan is: move to GERMANY!My company doesn't know it yet and I have colleagues reading the old one, so I'm now working on stuff here:http://findinghomeaway.blogspot.com/

    • Catching up on your blog now. Wish I could have visited you while you were there, but now I just have a wonderful excuse to revisit Germany!

      We (bike and barge) toured the Mosel region last summer and I’m itching to go back. Hope all’s well. šŸ™‚

  3. I’ve got a Doppler plate in my wrist too, thanks to a freak bicycle accident. šŸ™‚

    I’m also job hunting in this miserable economy. Sigh. But now I want chocolate. That will be my job for today. Chocolate and cover letters.

    • “A Doppler plate”- LOVE. IT.

      Chocolate and cover letters- sounds like a great title for a blog. Hmmm… Good luck! I find a stint of temping (even if it’s something outside of your skillset) breaks up the monotony nicely. And the money pays for a little more chocolate, which is never a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

