On the shelf: The Perfect Scoop

>Having not yet invested in a CrackBerry I still get the bulk of my news from a daily digest of The Post (I’m a Washingtonian, sue me) called “Express” which is available free from boxes near Metro stations and bus stops, and The Today Show when it’s on at the gym and I’m up.

Sad, I know.

This is why I have just now learned of David Leibovitz’s “The Perfect Scoop.” Never mind that it’s been talked about on his blog since March. I never claimed that this site was a bastion of timely news, so there.

Anyway, I’m still excited about it. Even though I am too late to check out the California classes, I am taking a short vakay (ew, I said “vaykay“) at the end of this month and the thought of trucking out to Seattle for 1 or 2 days isn’t all that unappealing, but New Orleans still beckons. Alas, New Orleans wins, but since I am visiting friends in London soonish-like, I will be making a detour to catch David when he is back in Paris. I’ll be the one inappropriately clad in Bermudas and Christian Louboutins.

I will, nonetheless, be getting my copy toot sweet, because I am an ice cream and sorbet fiend and if David was kind enough to publish a recipe for Guinness-Milk Chocolate (possibly a rival in my affections for the Guinness-Dark they serve at The Irish Inn on occasion?) then the very least I can do is try it out. So it’s off to Crate and Barrel for an ice cream maker then off to Barnes & Noble for my new ice cream bible.

And from now on I’ll be checking David’s blog more often. Even though it, and he, makes me feel like a giant slacker.

Leave a Reply

