In the kitchen: Cherry Upside Down Cake

Where have I been? Oh my word, as my friend CS likes to say, I don’t know where to start. To keep it short:

I got a new publishing job (i.e. I’m not longer temping/contracting) and once again I am in front of the computer all day. But this job is different from past endeavors in that it is truly what I wanted/needed. (The only thing that would make it better is if it were food-related. Really.) And, as an extra added bonus, unlike my last job, where I could see downtown from my window- a tiny Washington Monument and Capitol Dome silently mocking me for being ever farther away- I am mere blocks away from the White House. The other day I walked over to peer at it through the wrought iron fence and saw people moving around inside. Wow.

What else? My camera came back last week and unfortunately the one thing that wasn’t working when it was sent off is still not working. But frankly I don’t care anymore about whether it makes a shutter clicking noise when I take flash pictures to let me know the shot was taken successfully. (Okay, maybe a little bit.) What I need to do is take a class, because as you can see, my photography skills have not improved.

The first ‘boarding trip of the season was this past Sunday. It was marvelous. It would have been better if the snow was real, but you can’t have everything now, can you?

I’m joining a gym… kinda. There’s this intense bootcamp thing that AR, shopping buddy extraordinaire, ferretted out for us to try. I am totally ready to whip out the checkbook and kiss the spare tire goodbye. (The one thing that might complicate this is that I have been invited to contribute to a website devoted to dining out. Which means that I will be wanting to eat out occasionally- purely research I tell you!)

In the meantime, the bride wants us to wear bright pink. I love the bride. Therefore I am waiting to see whether I will be wearing bright pink J. Crew or Ann Taylor in April.

Looking into plans to attend the New Orleans JazzFest this year. I have a free ticket- bring on the blackout dates!

Some friends and I are planning a bike trip in early summer. We’re taking on the C&O Canal, which now goes from DC to Pittsburgh- that’s about 320 miles up and a 7 hour drive back. Yikes. Philly, where several friends live, is 3 hours away, but Pburgh has the Warhol museum. Rock on.

When I started this post I was planning a dish to take to a potluck Saturday afternoon- it had to be Southern, so I was looking into Paula Deen (who gets “know” and “no” mixed up on her personal site, which troubles me a tad). At first I was thinking of doing white trash sundaes- ice cream sandwiches topped with Cool Whip from a can with a cherry on top. (I know, that’s so sad, but do you ever have days when you want to cook but just… don’t want to at the same time?)

Anyway, I ended up with something else entirely:

Cherry Upside Down Cake (adapted from about.com)

INGREDIENTS:
1 box instant vanilla cake mix
3 eggs
1 1/4 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 20 can of cherry pie filling (Comstock is good)
1 handy dandy square foil cake pan with lid

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat the oven to 325F.
Slather the cake pan with butter or margarine. Really- slather.
Spread the cherry pie filling on the bottom of the pan.
In a large bowl, by hand (if your mixer is still crippled) combined the eggs, water and oil into the cake mix. The batter will be lumpy.
Pour the batter over the pie filling and bake for 45 minutes or until the cake pulls away from the edges of the pan.
Remove from the oven, place on wire rack.

If you are going to a potluck, wait until the cake has cooled somewhat before putting on the lid. When you get to the gathering, get the host to fetch you a large plate. Place the plate over the pan, then flip and remove pan. Trust me.

If you’re not going anywhere, let it cool and flip before serving.

The effect is quite spectacular. The taste is pure white trash.

One response to “In the kitchen: Cherry Upside Down Cake

  1. >COngrats on the new job!

Leave a Reply

