Chocolate bars and feeding your coworkers

>I recently started a fab new job, rife with opportunity and… food. I was warned when I started that my office was all about food and so far it has, as advertised, been all about food. We’ve been out to some really fantastic local ‘strants including an Indian place and a kabob place, both of which left me stuffed to the gills and happy as a clam. (How’s that for a mixed image- can you tell NaNoWriMo is kicking my arse?)

We have weekly lunches Takeout Taxi’s in from local restaurants, and in the conference room between bites of barbeque, we talk about everyone’s pets (this is a dog-friendly office), the sand someone found in their grocery store bought salad, and plans for the weekend. Because I’m new, and even as a grown-up I feel this incredible sense of insecurity about being in a new place with new people and struggling with my new job, I brought a small vat of homemade Walnut Chocolate Chip cookies to share.

Walnut Chocolate Chip cookies are just like Tollhouse Cookies except that they are chock full o’ nuts, which I diced (chopped? minced?) by hand and added, alternating with the dry ingredients. An overabundance of nuts adds a subtle flavor and a knobbly texture to the cookie that I quite like. My coworkers apparently like them too, because when I removed the container from the table several people lunged at me. Lunged like rabid wolves, in fact. So basically the response to my efforts was good and I might try doing it again. That’s fine- an evening of trashy t.v. and baking once a week is good for the soul if not the waistline.

(Being a tea phreak the next batch will test my coworkers’ mettle. I’m planning to try out this little number– either the response will be joy and rapture or I won’t have to bake for work ever again.)

On the other hand, maybe I should stick to chocolate, which seems to be the food of choice for plying, soothing, and rewarding your coworkers. When my coworker, a lovely person I was really looking forward to working with, suddenly announced she was resigning, she took me to B&N for some computer books to get me up to speed. Then we went into Trader Joe’s, where she attempted to assuage my disappointment and panic with a bar of Valrhona 85% dark. Yowza. It didn’t quite work, but I’m a little less cranky. M-m-m-my Valrhona!

Another coworker, pleased at the results of a project I was working on for her, dropped off a bar of Astor Premium Dark. She swore me to silence (“Or everyone will wonder where I got it!”) because she’d swiped it off a cart at the Times Square Marriott Marquis during a recent business trip. Hoity toity! At the hotels I stay at, the pillow mints are Starlights or Andes.

(Side note: New York hotels are lovely, ’tis true. I’ve stayed at the Hotel Paramount, the HoJo’s and the Edison, but generally I’m the kinda girl who goes traveling and tends to reserve something super nice the first and last nights of the trip- when I’m acclimating and decompressing respectively. In the middle I tend to go for holes-in-the-wall, because I don’t go traveling to stare at the four walls of a gorgeous suite and would rather put the money toward a good dinner or Prada lipgloss. But I think, based on this yummy bar o’ heaven, I may have to evaluate that stance.)

When I start decorating my office the first thing to go up will be a sign- “Will work for food.”

No, scratch that. Chocolate.

One response to “Chocolate bars and feeding your coworkers

  1. >Kinda reminds me of when I bring baked good to work. Wolves. Yeah, that sounds right.

Leave a Reply

