Dining Out: Green Papaya

On Wednesday I had the pleasure of having lunch with a good friend at a local Vietnamese restaurant- Green Papaya– that is a 5 minute walk from my office. It’s a nice little place- full of dark wood and Buddha statues- but the service is un peu glacial and my lunch hour turned into a lunch 90 minutes.

Anyway, it was a rather windy day and I was wearing a pleated silk skirt that basically went airborne whenever there was an errant gust of wind, which happened every 15 seconds or so. I’m not sure I stopped traffic, but several young men leered. Not fun. But I was excited- this was my first time as a grownup meeting a friend for lunch in the middle of the work day. Ah, the simple pleasures! Even better, BR was on the corner a block from the restaurant about to cross- so instead of one person seated alone waiting and many apologies for lateness (something I have been guilty of on several occasions) we had a nice stroll to the restaurant.

After much mulling over the menu, BR ordered ginger noodles with chicken, beef and shrimp and I ordered chicken curry (cari ga) with coconut milk, ginger and cilantro. I knew they had iced coffee- I’d had it there before- but it wasn’t on offer and the waiter said they didn’t have any. They did have ginger ale though. Unfortunately it was flat. The lunch specials are reasonably priced and the selection of dishes is quite good. “Specials” means interesting dishes that aren’t reasonably priced. Go figure.

BR doesn’t like shrimp and promised to give me hers. It turned out that there were only two shrimp in the dish, which we found slightly hilarious. The ginger noodles were tasty- very similar to yakisoba (pan fried noodles) that I’d not had since leaving Japan. The curry was quite delicious and flavorful with large chunks of chicken and well cooked sweet carrots and potatoes. It was very good, but somehow during the course of the meal, and despite the rather large napkin draped across my lap, I managed to spill curry on my skirt and (white) shirt tails (doing the sweatervest over untucked buttondown thing which I won’t do again). Sigh. Upon arriving home that evening I went right for the Shout and so far so good.

Today, while going for an early nibble of lunch, I spooned the leftovers into a bowl to reheat and somehow dropped a chunk of potato and a bit of chicken on my leg, staining one of my favorite pairs of jeans, but narrowly missing the Report ballet slippers I got in Seattle. Clearly, curry is evil. But so delicious!

My next online stop is Gerber so that I can order myself a bib, because no curry is going to get the best of me.

Green Papaya
4922 Elm Street
Bethesda, MD
PH: 301-654-8986

2 responses to “Dining Out: Green Papaya

  1. >Mmmmm, curry… *drool*

Leave a Reply

