Stuffed Pork Tenderloins with Bacon and Apple-Reisling Sauce: Part 1.

Tonight I am having folks over to the house for an event that’s been going on for a while.  It’s sort of a revolving supper club- “I’ll show you mine if you… eat it with me” or something. Wow. That sounded bad.

Months back my friend CD (who has been AWOL for a bit due to a new condo, a lovely boyfriend and a part time job that eats up her weekends) had this idea. We would cook for each other and show each other how to make our best dishes. She hosted the first one and we learned how to make spring rolls- in fact we had a contest to see who could make the prettiest spring roll and JC’s husband won.

Anyway, after a round of these get-togethers it is my turn. And I am petrified.

Why? Well, my mother is a Kitchen Nazi, which means I don’t get to cook much less hang around when she’s in there cooking. And so as a result I don’t have a best dish. In fact, I’m like Izzie on Grey’s Anatomy- I bake but I can’t really cook. I can make a mean salad (as previous posts will attest), pasta machines are no problem though bread and white cake still give me fits. I can do steak, fish or poultry, and brunch food is my forte, but on the whole I’m a neophyte in the kitchen. But I’m willing to give it a shot.

And I picked a doozie. Tonight’s dinner isn’t just spaghetti and salad, it’s pork loin stuffed with chevre and collard greens and wrapped in bacon, mashed potatoes and all sorts of things that are fairly laborious. KB is helping, and so are a few other friends, but in the end I am on my own- it’s my house and I’m the one who picked a recipe that I just realized required grilling and we have no charcoal. Ack!

Thank goodness for Google and the Food Network. Did you know that you can broil a stuffed pork loin and it won’t take much longer than grilling? Glorioski.

Part 2 will deal with the aftermath. Can’t wait for the aftermath!

Leave a Reply

