Good Stuff: S’more is better.

When it comes to roasting marshmallows I’m a singer.

No, I don’t mean I yodel an aria as I cook the little buggers, I mean I singe them. Basically because I lack patience. And because if you do it quickly the marshmallows are so shocked and surprised they lack the impetus to slide off your skewer into the fire.

Last weekend while camping with friends in Luray, VA I could not contain my joy at the prospect of a campfire. Because I am a geek. And because I love the smell of woodsmoke.

There were 20 or more of use around and someone decided we needed s’mores, so double pronged wire fork things were passed out, as well as Sta-Pufts and Hershey’s bars. It’s funny- I will forgo a Hershey’s kiss and am a bit of a snob when it comes to chocolate, but for s’mores it’s mandatory. Cosi even serves Hershey bars with its s’mores sets. One day I might try it with homemade marshmallows, Scharffenberger and oat biscuits, but really… why?

Anyway, I amused my benchmates mightily by jamming the marshmallows on the fork and thrusting it deep into the embers. Of course the marshmallows caught fire and I had to pause in my conversation and blow them out.

Friend: “Are you really going to eat that?”

Me: “Why not? They’re all burned and scary on the outside, but inside they’re soft and gooey. Like the Beast in “Beauty and the Beast.” So the chocolate will melt. It’s perfect.”

Friend: “…”

I smooshed the marshmallows between two graham crackers- which are very tasty by themselves, in case you never tried one- and double chocolate. Then I stopped to appreciate the sugary goodness- the gooey white marshmallow, the ribbons of warm chocolate, the graham cracker… which would inevitably snap in pieces when I bit into it.

S’mores are part of the American lexicon- a rite of sorts. Part of every camping trip. There’s s’more ice cream, s’more cereal, s’more trail mix (mini-marshmallows, Golden Grahams cereal, chocolate chips), s’more granola bars. When I was a child I could eat a Hershey bar’s worth- one or two squares a s’more. Unfortunately I am older than when I first s’more-d and now one is s’plenty.

It was tasty though.

Picture later. Here’s a link with variations on the s’more.

Leave a Reply

