>The Tao of Cookie.

>Let us pause now and reflect upon all that is good and right with the world.

Namely, cookies.

You doubt me? Look at Cookie Monster. Dude knows what he likes, what he wants, what he’s getting. He even sings about it. And he doesn’t have a care in this world, except when he runs out of cookies, which pretty much sucks.

Plus, he’s blue, and everyone knows that blue monsters have it going on, yo.

And I quote from the Tao of Cookie: “C is for Cookie, that’s good enough for me!”

So true, so right. And good enough for me too!

All hail the blue guy. Can you imagine how much easier life would be if we just celebrated the good stuff? Why is it that we can’t break into spontaneous song when things make us happy?

I think food is worth singing about. When the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie… that’s amore. You betcha! When I lived in Japan I sang about macha au lait. Some genius packaged single servings of the thick, powdery, slightly bitter, frothy green tea used for tea ceremonies laced with a touch of milk und sugar and it vas delicious!

To the tune of the Hallelujah Chorus:

“Maaaacha macha,
Maaaacha macha,
macha macha,
macha macha,
machaaaaaaaaaaaaaa-ah-ah”

Not kidding. If I could find the stuff here I’d sing about it.

I was at my favorite place in DC again tonight and instead of going overboard on food I decided to get cookies, because if there’s anything that I like more than Japanese food, ice cream, or my mom’s baked spaghetti it would be cookies. And I hadn’t tried these yet.

The first is the Salty Oat Cookie.

Behold the salty goodness. The salt crystals are a nice counterpoint to the sweetness of the raisins and sugar in the recipe. The oats taste… fresh. Fresh enough to make you want to neigh. The consistency is good for dipping in cold milk or savoring on its own: chewy and dense like your cousin Arnie from Queens. Not your average oatmeal cookie.

For less than $2 you get something roughly the size of your fist, but a lot flatter. It’s like a biscuit with a sweetish disposition.

This one rates Beethoven’s Fifth:

“SALTY OAT cookie, SALTY OAT cookie,
saltyoatcookiesaltyoatcookiesaltyoatcookie,
saltyoatcookiesaltyoatcookiesaltyoatcookie,
salty oat cookie,
salty oat cookie,
salty oat co-ooKIE!

And then there is the Toffee Granola Chocolate Chunk Cookie.

Oh my. Granola: it’s not just for brekkie anymore. Really.

Again, not too sweet, which I like. It’s chewy but you can still break off a piece without too much bendage and very delicious. There’s a touch of nutmeg and cinnamon and most of the sweetness is due to the dried fruit mixed into the granola. You can taste the buttery toffee bits, the chocolate is subtle, and the granola gives it extra crunch.

The texture reminds me of a Clif bar without the toothbreaking hardness due to cold weather factor.

And big. Again, less than $2, which is always a good thing.

This one rates a chorus of… jeezum crow I’d rather take a mouthful o’ cookie than transform that mouthful of a name into a song!

“C is for Cookie, that’s good enough for me!”

Let us eat.

Here’s an oatmeal cookie recipe that I like.

2 responses to “>The Tao of Cookie.

  1. >Salty Oat Cookie?Salty Oat Cookie?Salty Oat Cookie?Are you kidding me here? Are you trying to make me drool all over my keyboard or something? It wouldn’t be a pretty sight.Lucky lucky lucky lucky lucky lucky lucky you.I always say I don’t have much of a sweet tooth and then I see cookies and completely lose any self-composure I thought I had.I love this posting and now I’ll be on a cookie quest this weekend!Singing about cookies,matt

  2. >Awesome! I wanna hear your cookie song!This afternoon I found a cookie place that I’m going to try next week. Most of the cookies come on sticks, but the ones that don’t look goooooood ;-P

Leave a Reply

