>TMI tag!

>Obachan of Obachan’s Kitchen & Balcony Garden tagged me for the TMI meme!

It’s an embarrassment of riches!

So without too much ado, here are 10 facts about me that are interesting (I hope) and informative (haha!). I can think of a few people (Eric) I’d like to tag.

1. I have a bunch of sketchbooks full of pictures, collages made out of wrapping paper, song lyrics, sketches and such. I also have a book of single panel cartoons about my experiences in Japan that I have been working on for years.

2. I rowed in a lightweight 4 in college. The average height of our boat was 5’4 and our coxswain (the person who sits on the end of the boat and yells at you to ROW!) was 5’8. Whenever we walked around at races people would say, “Check out the coxes!”

3. I skiied for the first time at 22 in the US. I learned to snowboard in Japan a year or two later. I still ride and when money is tight I collect ‘boarding mags and dream.

4. One day, when I can afford it, I want at least one pair of really expensive girly shoes. Like Jimmy Choos or Manolo Blahniks.

5. I started figure skating at 10 or 11 and still wear the same skates- which is probably why my big toes curve in a little.

6. I like garlic and people who avoid it, because of the smell, make me wary. One of my favorite places to eat in Kobe was Niniku-ya (“garlic shop”). I remember once I invited some Japanese girl friends over for dinner and made shrimp fettucine with fresh garlic and lemon- it caused immediate freakage (“I can’t eat that! I’m going to my boyfriend’s house tonight!”) which was repaired only by the bananas foster I made for dessert.

7. I like the journey as much as the destination. Unless I’m driving in DC, then I just want to get it over with.

8. I am annoyed that my cousin Peter is enjoying a second career as a successful author and I can’t even pull myself together enough to write for NaNiWriMo.

9. In the 5th grade we did a project on apprenticeship. I apprenticed myself to my mother and learned how to cook a 4 course meal and dessert- the main dish was Chicken Kiev. My teacher came over for dinner and gave me an “A” (I think). That was the last time my mother and I ever cooked together.

10. I started this blog to celebrate all the the good stuff in my life, but I’m not sure what the focus is beyond my love for writing. I’m a winter foodie so that’s out. The minute the weather gets warm you won’t see me for dust so that doesn’t work. If I could find a biker guy who didn’t shave his legs, liked to snowboard, and had a decent job, grad level education and a healthy respect for humanity I’d be married by now therefore no snarky guy comments. Don’t look at me like that! This blog is about good stuff! There’s lots around so turn off the blinky box, get out there and enjoy it!

But before you do, leave me a comment pretty please?

I’ll tag when I’ve found folks who haven’t done this one yet.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

