Ilana.

>One of the best parts of riding a bike is having license to pig out after a long ride. Check out Ilana fueling up on nachos.

I met Ilana over 4th of July weekend. She works in the audio library at the New England Conservatory in Massachusetts. She also plays around on the Bicycling forums, which is where I “met” her in a figurative sense along with Mike who also lives in MA.

When I was planning my trip north I contacted Ilana and Mike about riding with them, the only wrinkle being my lack of bike. Ilana brought along a comfort bike, which is like a mountain bike, but more upright. The three of us took a nice long jaunt through Lexington, Concord and surrounding areas. At least I think we did- I was focused on keeping up!

Afterwards, we went to one of my favorite hangouts in Somerville- Redbones in Davis Square. It’s an awesome barbeque joint and Ilana was a good sport for coming along seeing as how she’s a vegetarian.

Meeting Ilana and Mike really made the trip for me. I don’t have a lot of riding buddies, but it’s nice to know that when I go up to the not-so-frozen north I have fun, chipper folks to ride with!

Leave a Reply

