In the Kitchen: White Chocolate Meyer Lemon Tart with a Graham Cracker Crust

After spending an inordinate amount of time messing about with recipes for lemon curd, I was really surprised to find, on a bag of Meyer lemons, the most uncomplicated recipe ever.

Image

Instead of putting a time limit on stirring the juice and sugar and eggs into silky smoothness, there was just the simple instruction to stir the mixture over boiling water “until it thickens to the consistency of pudding”.

Image

That one word, “pudding”, transformed the whole process of making lemon curd into something easy and intuitive. Who knew?

After taking the mixture off the stove, I added white chocolate to the mix. And if you know me, this is a big thing, because you know how I feel about white chocolate- it’s. not. chocolate.

Image

But it’s a white chocolate lemon tart, so it had to be done. And in it went:

Image

After chilling until cool, I whipped a cup of heavy cream to stiff peaks and folded it into the mixture:

Image.

And then, into the pre-made graham crust. And to clarify, “pre-made” means I made it before I started the filling. Because if you know me, you know I’d sooner stick a fork in an ocular cavity before using a premade anything. Also, I have a ton of graham crackers and I gotta use ‘em up before they stale up:

ATK’s 9-Inch Graham Cracker Crust

1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs
5 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted 
2 Tbsp sugar

1. Put oven rack in lower-middle position and preheat oven to 325F. Toss ingredients together with a fork until thoroughly mixed. Pour crumbs into a tart pan with a removable bottom.

2. Press crumbs into an even layer in the bottom and sides of the pan with the back of a spoon or a measuring cup. Bake until fragrant and starting to brown (15-20 min). Place on a rack and cool.

Image

Chilled until firm and then drizzled with a bit of dark chocolate syrup:

Image

White Chocolate Meyer Lemon Tart

Ingredients:

3 large eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1 cup heavy cream
1/3 cup fresh Meyer lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
4 ounces white chocolate, cut into 1/2″ pieces
1 9″ baked pie or tart shell

Directions:

  1. In a medium stainless steel bowl, beat the eggs until blended. Stir in sugar and then lemon juice.
  2. Cook over boiling water, stirring continuously with a wire whisk until mixture thickens; resembling pudding.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in white chocolate until melted and completely incorporated. Set aside and cool at room temperature. Cover and chill.
  4. Whip the cream to firm peaks. Fold into the cooled Meyer lemon mixture and spoon into baked tart shell.
  5. Chill 2 hours or until firm before serving.

And this sudden simplicity got me to thinking about why I’ve decided to pick up and move to the West Coast- it’s not just the weather and the citrus, but the simplicity. I adore my family, my friends mean a lot to me, but there’s something about getting rid of all the junk I’ve been carrying around for years- ever since I got back from Japan in 2001, in fact (and don’t get me started on the stuff I got rid of before I left good ol’ Nippon). There’s something about leaving behind the three-part commute, the three-piece suits, the three-party system, that has me ready to jump in the car and head out.

Every day I take things out of the apartment, use up the baking stuff in my pantry, and simplify, simplify, simplify. And that’s the only three of anything I want.

One response to “In the Kitchen: White Chocolate Meyer Lemon Tart with a Graham Cracker Crust

  1. Found Meyer lemons in a Sam’s Store. Amazing. Haven’t used these ever. Make a lot of cream pies, lemon pies and cheesecakes so this was a recipe I wanted to try. Have a cream cheese dough recipe for the crust. Not sure I want to use it or a crust from very finely crushed nuts, butter, flour etc. Thanks for the incredible pics. that help to see and know what to look for. Thanks for the approximate measurement for lemon juice. Helps a lot.

Leave a Reply

